h1

That’s Amore

March 30, 2011

Hi all! Good Morning Everyone!

Coming to you live from the other side and the present side, your hosts Wash Your Hands and Penny P. And we have a question? What do you call an uncle whom you never met before? (If you never met him, how did you know he’s your uncle?) (Well, my mom, of course!) Well, I call him my Uncle Al, and that night we dined pizza. Because Thai was not on their list.

Don’t worry
Don’t worry ’bout me
I’m just funkin’ around for fun
When you see my mother
Tell her don’t worry ’bout me
I’m just funkin’ around for fun

Usually, not one to be down with a pizza affair, I am down with a family affair…so if the family wants pizza, I’ll take a slice or two. Double true! We had it during movie-night…3 times in a row. We had it one beautiful chocolate cook-off night. And we’ll have it again. But in America, pizza has an entirely different meaning. Pizza was the food for workers; simple, easy, cheap. A single flat piece of dough made to stretch, a sliver of tomato sauce all around, some cheese, and some fresh tomato topped with a basil leaf. But that was back in the day. Nowadays, if the pizza does not have more than three toppings, it is just a piece of bread with sauce and cheese. Could it be that our palettes have grown so sophisticated that we need to pile on more flavors for our every bite? Or is it that our palettes have gotten so gluttonous that they can no longer eat anything without having at least 3 flavors? Whatever the reason, tonight we dined pizza.

Back in the day when things were cool
We used to meet up with these dudes
Then we’d roll out on Vogues and Trues
And would ride around the park till its after dark
Pumpin the trunk with the windows rolled up, puff
Well well well

Oggi’s Pizza and Brewing Company
12362 Chapman Avenue
Garden Grove, CA
www.oggis.com

Introducing a sports bar amalgamate with pizzeria that is so entertainment oriented that even the restrooms have little televisions looking back at you while you urinate. Situated in the middle of a hotel district, tonight this place was apparently the place to be; packed from wall to wall, hustling from table to table and bustling from waiter to waiter. The menu had your typical sports venue affair, but we were there for pizza: a 2-course meal and let’s forget about the 1st course.

The Oggi’s Special: a pizza topped with onion, green and red bell pepper, Italian sausage and pepperoni all sitting on top of mozzarella cheese and tomato sauce. My palette has lost its affinity for pork, as that love affair between tongue and other white meat usually ends in bitter divorce. Thus,

 

March Madness: a five cheese, white pizza. Simple enough. What’s better than 1 type of cheese? 5!

For some reason, American food does not look too appetizing while photographed…I’ll keep them small.

So, Wash Your Hands, what have you been eating (minus bananas)?

Haha… unlike Penny there, I’m stuck on the island of no good food and no fun things to do. So basically summing it, I’ve been eating stuff that’s not worthy of a picture or mentioning. Not to mention, terrible cook on the loose, thus I can’t even make good food. So what have I been eating, let’s see… what my roomies cook, which they seem to be doing sparingly now, and ramen.

That’s it our dear friends and readers, have a beautiful night!

Leave a comment